There’s always light at the end of the tunnel

It’s a bad day when WordPress sends out a search party for you! I thought I better get my finger out and start writing!

With the end of the year coming close. It only seems fitting to write a bit about how the year’s went. It’s definitely been up and down with surprises in between.

In the beginning of the year it started on a real low. I was housebound, lonely and isolated after being made disabled due to 15 brain operations. I spent most days sitting in my chair looking out the window, watching everyone going about their business, taking kids to school, going to work etc. While I sat wishing I could do that and wish I had a purpose.

As I tell many people I try to help on my Facebook page, no situation stays the same forever and I found out about an organisation called the Glasgow Disability Alliance (GDA). They honestly changed my life! I went from feeling isolated, lonely, no friends, and no sense of purpose. Now the GDA have put me on confidence building courses, invited me to big events, I also campaign for disabled people’s rights. They have given me the confidence and the tools to do other things in my life too. I have also made many new friends.

Due to my new found confidence I decided to apply to the Open University to study BA Honours in Sociology. It’s been a lifelong dream and I’m loving it and enjoying the sense of purpose it has given me.

Lastly I became an Author and written a book to help kids with Hip Dysplasia facing surgery. I’m so proud of this achievement and so happy at the amount of kids that the books helped so far.

I’m hoping this shows as one door closes, another door opens and no situation stays the same!

I have spoken to many people who have underwent Chiari surgery etc and they feel their life has ended. However, with some positive thinking your life has actually just begun!!

I hope my sharing has helped and I wish you all the luck for 2018 and sending lots of positivity!!

Love Karen x x x

One thought on “There’s always light at the end of the tunnel

Leave a comment