Spica Warrior

There she goes spinning like a Catherine wheel! I have to hold onto my tea just so I don't wear it!! Who would have thought this time 5 years ago Lauren would have been going in for her first surgery of five and spend the next 18 months in a cast! It was a really tough time for the whole family as we had never heard of DDH and there was no local support.

Over the next next 18 months Lauren had a closed reduction, open reduction 2 femoral osteotomies and 2 pelvic osteotomies and countless cast changes. The worst worst part was handing my baby over to the anaesthetic nurse and not knowing if I was going to get my Daughter back!
It was also difficult as part if the way through Lauren's treatment I had to start my brain surgeries for a brain condition I was born with.
Everything seemed to happen at once and we definitely felt we were getting tried!!

However Lauren was amazing and she really helped me through it all. She was an inspiration! Not once did she complain and she smiled and laughed everyday. She also walked, ran, jumped and climbed in her cast. I once caught her on a trampoline!!!

Five years on Lauren has perfect hips and does gymnastics, ballet, hip hop and dance! It's so important to stay positive your wee one because you might not see the light right away but it's there!

That's why I decided to write the book "spica Warrior", a book about kids with Hip Dysplasia facing surgery. I know some parents struggle with finding the positives or telling the cool about surgery. This book is a "tool" that helps parents find the right words to talk to their children about the difficult subject. It also makes the journey seem less daunting and less scary for kids too. I wanted to use our experience to make other people's experiences easier and less daunting!

So far the book has proved positive and people like it which is great! I'm so glad that it's starting to help families as that's exactly what I wanted to achieve. I want to continue to share and make more and more families aware of the book to help as many people as possible.

You can purchase Spica Warrior on https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/524511446/spica-warrior?ref=listings_manager_grid

Lots of love

Karen x x x

Leave a Reply

